Tag Archives: gelatin

This Startup Is Brewing “Real” Vegan Gelatin

Gelatin comes from animals, right? Yes, but there’s a San Francisco startup working to change that. Gelzen is using bacteria make what it says is real gelatin—not a similar, plant-derived substitute. The process sounds simple, if a little sci-fi. Gelzen programs bacteria and yeast with the same genetic program that produces gelatin in animal tissue, then uses the strains to ferment gelatin.

Winemakers are replacing gelatin with pea-protein

VegNews reports that a company called Eaton is making it easier for winemakers to create vegan products. WineBusiness.com recently addressed the growing demand for gelatin free wine, and hypes the effortless and necessary switch to pea protein with Eaton products. No more guzzling animal fats!

Support us!

If you like this site please help and make click on the button below!