This week Guinness announced that it’s tweaking its 256-year-old recipe so that it’s safe for vegans to drink. Guinness currently uses isinglass, a gelatin derived from fish swim bladders, as part of its filtration process. By late 2016, the stout-maker will stop using the food additive, which currently prevents the company from labeling its product as suitable for vegetarians or vegans. Vegans don’t eat anything that comes from an animal. That includes meat, fish, eggs, milk, and other dairy products, and, for some, even honey — which is made by bees. They also join vegetarians in avoiding animal-derived products like gelatin, which can come from the hides, tissues, or bones of cows and pigs.


Though a vegan diet appears limiting, there are many surprising brand-name foods that are OK to eat. A list of “accidentally vegan” foods, compiled by the People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, includes cookies, chips, and salad dressings that meet vegan dietary requirements.

These products may not be great for your health, but you can breathe easy knowing no animals were harmed in the process.

View As: One Page Slides